The Chakras

Many of the struggles that we face as adults link back to the beginning of our lives. Energetic bodywork can release the trapped energy, hurt, or insecurities of our childhood and help to uncover our true and most authentic selves.

The lower chakras of the body are especially connected to our childhood, with the upper chakras relating to they way we relate to the world and to spirituality. Here is a brief introduction to the energetic principles of the chakras of the body, each holding power, pain, light, and shadows impressed upon us from our first moment of incarnation.

1st Chakra survival

The first chakra of the body develops as we grow in our mother’s womb, as we are born, and as infants. This is when our sense of belonging, our connection to tribe, and our root to the world is established. To understand this chakra, we must turn back to the earliest moments of our lives. What was our in-utero experience like? How was our mother’s pregnancy? How were we born? What were our parents like? How did they hold us, support us, protect us? The root chakra remembers this beginning.

2nd chakra desire

The second charka is about desire, and it develops in a stage known as “the terrible twos.” At this time in childhood development, we start to express our feelings and demand our needs. Here, for the first time, we are connecting to the needs that drive our emotions.

The second chakra often holds guilt, caused when a feeling or desire is judged as sinful or bad. This chakra – holding our desires – must find satisfaction. Unhealthy expressions of desire can manifest if we are holding unconscious guilt. If we deny our deepest desires, we might turn to chocolate cake, wine, or drinking to obtain a sense of pleasure and fullness. Healing this chakra reveals that pleasure makes you feel alive, and can be enjoyed free of guilt.

3rd Chakra Power

The third chakra develops around the age of three and is connected to our sense of individuation. Here, we discover that we are our own person, and it feels good to explore and claim our independence in this world. This chakra rules the way in which we present ourselves to the world and how we express ourselves. The shadow side to the third chakra, however, can manifest as shame; a feeling that “something is wrong with me.” To fully embody our potential, the shame that can follow us from childhood must be released.

4th Chakra Love & Connection

The fourth chakra, ruled by our heart, develops at four or five years of age. At this time in our lives we often face a trial, a painful rite of passage that involves a loss of some kind: A death, a separation, an experience that weighs down the heart. In this rite of passage, we either feel the vulnerability of the heart or we try to shut down and control that feeling. Our relationship with our heart is intrinsically connected to our ability to receive.

5th Chakra Voice

The fifth chakra is connected to our voice and to speaking our truth. As our childhood progresses, we learn to either speak for ourselves, or we begin to speak “someone else’s truth,” which is often influenced by our culture and society. This chakra is connected to the way we express our needs and claim our space.

6th Chakra Purpose

The sixth chakra is connected to the way we see ourselves in the world around us.  It influences our sense of purpose and the ways in which we create and manifest in this life.

7th Chakra Spirituality

The Seventh Chakra relates to our spiritual connection to the world, with our psyche, our intuition, and our faith.

When the chakras are in balance, our energy, mood, mind, heart, passions, voice and faith are aligned, providing a profound sense of balance, belonging, and purpose. Energetic bodywork takes time, and clients are encouraged to schedule sessions for at least one to four months, or longer, depending on their goals and individualized needs.

Annie is here for you and ready to support your fullest experience of balance, passion and peace.